Skip to content

Marriage: A Promise to the Generations

October 10, 2009

Blue_morpho_butterfly

I didn’t marry you because you were perfect.
I didn’t even marry you because I loved you.
I married you because you gave me a promise.
That promise made up for your faults.
And the promise I gave you made up for mine.
Two imperfect people got married and it was the promise that made the marrigae.
And when our children were growing up, it wasn’t a house that protected them; and it wasn’t our love that protected them – it was that promise.

Thornton Wilder

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ken Kendall permalink
    October 10, 2009 6:21 pm

    This is fantastic. I was just writing about the imperfections of our spouse on my blog as well.

    I hope you will check it out.

    http://whatsheneedsfromyou.wordpress.com

    Thanks,

  2. Clark permalink
    October 12, 2009 3:53 am

    Marie–you are too sanctimonious…as if you are saving the world by denying gay people the rights straight people enjoy. Gay people are not going away. And your right to bigotry will not trump my right to equal civil rights.

    • mlabot permalink*
      October 12, 2009 8:26 pm

      Clark, what is sanctimonious about this posting? I’m simply putting up a beautiful poem about marriage, family and children. Is that now bigoted also?

  3. October 12, 2009 1:39 pm

    You just supported gay marriage, unless this is a different Thornton Wilder:

    Although Wilder never discussed being gay publicly or in his writings, his close friend Samuel Steward is generally acknowledged to have been a lover. Wilder was introduced to Steward by Gertrude Stein, who at the time regularly corresponded with the both of them. The third act of Our Town was famously drafted during a brief affair with Steward in Zurich on their first meeting.

    Teh googlz- your friend.

    • mlabot permalink*
      October 12, 2009 8:23 pm

      Personal F, There is nothing in this poem that promotes gay marriage. Again, you and Ross seem to be a little close minded about certain strokes of creativity being owned by the gay community. Does it bother you that I put this poem on my blog? I think it is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

